“The Rosie Project” by Graeme Simsion

Rosie_project

What’s it about?

Don Tillman is a Professor of Genetics living in Melbourne, he finds most social situations awkward and has never been on a second date. Pushing 40, he knows that statistically there should be someone out there for him and so he embarks on “The Wife Project”, a lengthy and comprehensive questionnaire aimed at finding the perfect match. Much amusement ensues and the naivety in which Don views the world makes for a very charming and quirky adventure.

Worth reading because:

It is a genuinely heart-warming and funny book. I can’t believe it took me so long to get around to reading it. Don is one of the most offbeat and original characters I have ever read and you will not be able to put this book down. It’s silly, light, fun and a wonderful means of escapism.

Any other books by this author worth reading?

Graeme Simsion has since written a sequel to this book called The Rosie Effect, it has good reviews but I am in two minds about reading it, I don’t want to spoil the gem that is the original, but it would be the perfect book to devour for my next long haul flight. Have you read the sequel? If so, let me know what you thought of it.

Choice Cuts:

Fault! Asperger’s isn’t a fault. It’s a variant. It’s potentially a major advantage. Asperger’s syndrome is associated with organization, focus, innovative thinking, and rational detachment.

I could not see the speedometer, and was not accustomed to travelling in an open vehicle, but I estimated that we were consistently exceeding the speed limit. Discordant sound, wind, risk of death—I tried to assume the mental state that I used at the dentist.

So, to add to a momentous day, I corrected a misconception that my family had held for at least fifteen years and came out to them as straight.

Delicious.

Did you enjoy The Rosie Project as much as I did?

One thought on ““The Rosie Project” by Graeme Simsion

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Books of 2014 | THE DELICIOUS FICTION SOCIETY

Leave a Reply

