“A Confederacy of Dunces” by John Kennedy Toole

A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole

This was my favourite book for a very long time, and it still ranks right at the top. I read it nearly ten years ago and I still find myself quoting from it in conversations, although no one knows what I’m on about…

What’s it about?

Meet the Ignatius J. Reilly, a 30 year old medieval scholar who still lives with his mother in New Orleans. He is obsesed by his contemptuous views of taste and decency and although he percieves he has a worldly outlook, he has never even left his home town. The novel centers around his quest for a job and the various adventures he has once employed.

Worth reading because:

It’s an eccentric, funny and memorable adventure featuring one of the best written characters of all time. The lanuage is just delicious and in writing about it now I think I’ll have to schedule it in for a re-read very soon. It also won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1981. A highly recommended read,  you’ll be quoting it for the rest of your life.

Any other books by this author worth reading?

Sadly no,  John Kennedy Toole comitted suicide in 1969 and never saw this masterpiece published.

Choice Cuts:

… I avoid that bleak first hour of the working day during which my still sluggish senses and body make ever chore a penance. I find that in arriving later, the work which I do perform is of a much higher quality.

‘Canned food is a perversion,’ Ignatius said. ‘I suspect that it is ultimately very damaging to the soul’

A firm rule must be imposed upon our nation before it destroys itself. The United States needs some theology and geometry, some taste and decency. I suspect that we are teetering on the edge of the abyss.

Delicious.

Have you read A Confederace of Dunces? Do you like it as much as I do?

Leave a Reply

